This view allows you to change settings of a user folder.
Encrypt user passwords checkbox controls whether user passwords
are stored encrypted. If passwords are stored encrypted, users can
still use their password to log in but it is very difficult for anyone,
especially intruders, to decrypt the passwords. It also prevents
system administrators from telling users what their current
password is, although system administrators can still reset user
If you click the
Update existing passwords button while the
Encrypt user passwords checkbox is on, Zope will encrypt all the
unencrypted passwords of the users in the folder. Zope uses the
Secure Hash Algorithm so the encryption is irreversible.
Note that you can still undo after updating the existing passwords because the unencrypted passwords are stored in the history in ZODB. After encrypting the passwords, you should pack the database then delete the temporary storage files created during packing.